Greenland in figures 2011

Indigenous people from the North American continent first settled in Greenland over 4,500 years ago whereas Scandinavian settlers arrived about 1,000 years ago. Today the country is called Kalaallit Nunaat which means “the Country of the Greenlanders”.

Mandag d. 30. maj 2011
Grønlands Statistik
Emnekreds: Statistik.

Greenland is part of the Kingdom of Denmark which consists of Denmark, the Faroe Islands, and Greenland.

Greenland has a national flag, issues its own stamps and is part of the Danish monetary and exchange union. In 1979, Greenland was granted home rule.

In June 2009, a bill on self-government was passed following a referendum on the question in November 2008. Selfgovernment was established on 21 June 2009, 30 years after the establishment of the home rule.

Download here Greenland in Figures 2011